Day 114 – I came from a family where gravy was considered a beverage. – Erma Bombeck

This is a nectarine brandy that my brother made.

This is a nectarine brandy that my brother made.

Turkey day is Thursday. My mother is the third of nine children. The holidays for my family  were loud. A whole lot of laughter mixed with a few spats and I loved every moment.

What I enjoyed the most about Thanksgiving was being in the kitchen with my mother cooking. The fun conversations we had. The gossip she would tell me about her friends and a few juicy tidbits about my own that I didn’t know.

Three things that make me happy the Thanksgiving edition:

1. My mother teaching me the family corn bread stuffing recipe. I’ve tried making it but…it doesn’t taste like my mothers or my grandmothers.  So I buy mine Vons supermarket. It’s pretty decent and then I doctor it up and put my own spin on it. I have to admit, it’s pretty damn good.

This is mango brandy. I told him it looked like strawberry.

This is mango brandy. I told him it looked like strawberry.

2. Cold oven pound cake. It’s was grandmother’s recipe. We only make it during the holidays. You can’t pre heat the over. It must be cold. You turn it on when the cake is the oven. It’s take forever to bake because the oven is at 300 degrees. It’s a pain in the ass to make but the cake literally melts in your mouth. It’s scrumptious. The scent entices and fills the house. Your mouth starts salivating.

3. My family has this great brandy recipe. My mother, brother and one of uncles have perfected their technique and make really great brandy. It’s for personal consumption. We don’t sell it (Uncle Sam don’t get your panties in a bunch). I’ve posted two pictures of the brandy. Tell me what you think?

– Felecia

Leave a comment